2018 Leadership

With the permission of the larger United Methodist Church, Luminary UMC has experimented with a new leadership structure that began in 2015. The church’s administrative matters are handled exclusively by a Church Leadership Council. This group consists of 12 lay members of the church and paid ministry staff. The lay members serve in three different “classes” so that each year, one-third of the group rotates off, allowing others to participate. The lay members also participate in subteams that focus on matters related to finance, leadership development, facilities, and labor/employment (what we now call “human resources,” traditionally staff-parish relations).

The CLC has developed the short-term and long-term vision for the church while handling basic administrative matters. The CLC has encouraged the development of what we call vision-based “work teams” and “ministry teams,” providing opportunities for anyone active at Luminary UMC to participate in the growth of Christ’s kingdom through our church. These teams may exist in the short term or the long term, depending on their specific purposes.

Openness is a key part of this leadership structure. CLC meetings are open to anyone, the only exception being when sensitive labor matters need to be discussed. Anyone can ask to be on the agenda of a CLC meeting by contacting the chair or the pastor. Minutes and decisions of the CLC are distributed via this web page and in paper form on a bulletin board outside the church office. We’ll also regularly report on the activities of the CLC in church publications.

2018 Church Leadership Council Members

Serving through Dec. 31, 2018

John Tindall (Lay Leader)

Shelly Jones

Sherri Burnette (Trustees Chair)

Denise VanNorman

Serving through Dec. 31, 2019

Sandra White (Finance Chair)

Bill Hughes

Mike Beard

Missy Richardson

Serving through Dec. 31, 2020

Becky Woody (CLC Chair)

Lee Garrott (HR Subteam Chair)

Linda Monk (Lay Member to Annual Conference)

Pam Hutchinson

Ministry Staff

 Pastor, Director of Music, Bookkeeper, Office Manager

Subteams (chair listed first)

HR: Lee Garrott, Linda Monk, John Tindall, Shelly Jones, Pastor

Trustees: Sherri Burnette, Bill Hughes, Missy Richardson

Finance: Sandra White, Mike Beard, Denise Van Norman, John Tindall, Pastor, Bookkeeper

Lay Leadership: Pastor, John Tindall, Pam Hutchinson, Mike Beard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s