2023 Leadership

Since 2015, Luminary UMC has used a leadership structure that involves the church’s administrative matters being handled exclusively by a Church Leadership Council. This group consists of 12 lay members of the church and the pastor, and is supported by other paid church staff. The lay members serve in three different “classes” so that each year, one-third of the group rotates off, allowing others to participate. The lay members also participate in standing work teams that focus on matters related to finance, leadership development, facilities, and labor/employment (what we now call “human resources,” traditionally staff-parish relations).

The CLC has developed the short-term and long-term vision for the church while handling basic administrative matters. The CLC has encouraged the development of additional “work teams” and “ministry teams,” providing opportunities for anyone active at Luminary UMC to participate in the growth of Christ’s kingdom through our church.

Openness is a key part of this leadership structure. CLC meetings are open to anyone, the only exception being when sensitive labor matters need to be discussed. Anyone can ask to be on the agenda of a CLC meeting by contacting the chair or the pastor. Minutes and decisions of the CLC are distributed via this web page and in paper form on a bulletin board outside the church office. We’ll also regularly report on the activities of the CLC in church publications.

Click HERE for zoom meeting link to CLC meetings.  The passcode is 730170

2023 Church Leadership Council

Serving through December 31, 2023

Jeremy Woody (Lay Leader)

Wayne Tipps (CLC Chair)

Twinkle Tindall (At Large)

 Sherri Burnette (Outreach Chair)

Lynn Wright (Worship Chair)

Serving through Dec. 31, 2024

Betsy Farr (Lay Member to Annual Conference)

Sandra White (At Large)                          

Serving through Dec. 31, 202

Rick Matthews (Trustee Chair)

Bob Van Norman (Finance Chair)

Marc Malone, (PPR Chair)

Angela Leitzel

Linda Monk

Bobby Jackson

**Sandra Hedrick (Substitute for Lay Leader to Annual Conference)

** only attending conference. Not serving in any other capacity.