2022 Leadership


With the permission of the larger United Methodist Church, Luminary UMC has since 2015 used an alternate leadership structure. The church’s administrative matters are handled exclusively by a Church Leadership Council. This group consists of 12 lay members of the church and the pastor, and is supported by other paid church staff. The lay members serve in three different “classes” so that each year, one-third of the group rotates off, allowing others to participate. The lay members also participate in standing work teams that focus on matters related to finance, leadership development, facilities, and labor/employment (what we now call “human resources,” traditionally staff-parish relations).

The CLC has developed the short-term and long-term vision for the church while handling basic administrative matters. The CLC has encouraged the development of additional “work teams” and “ministry teams,” providing opportunities for anyone active at Luminary UMC to participate in the growth of Christ’s kingdom through our church.

Openness is a key part of this leadership structure. CLC meetings are open to anyone, the only exception being when sensitive labor matters need to be discussed. Anyone can ask to be on the agenda of a CLC meeting by contacting the chair or the pastor. Minutes and decisions of the CLC are distributed via this web page and in paper form on a bulletin board outside the church office. We’ll also regularly report on the activities of the CLC in church publications.

Click HERE for zoom meeting link to CLC meetings.  The passcode is 730170

2022 Luminary United Methodist Church 

Church Leadership Council

Serving through Dec. 31, 2022

Jeremy Woods (Lay Leader)

Ben Jones (At Large)

Linda Beach  (At Large)

Rick Matthews (Trustee Chair)


Serving through Dec. 31, 2023

Wayne Tipps (CLC Chair)

Nadine Jackson (HR Chair)

Twinkle Tindall (At Large)

Karen Drake (Nurture)

                                                                   Sherre Burnette (Outreach)

                                                                   Lynn Wright (Worship)


Serving through Dec. 31, 2024

Sandra White (Finance Chair)

Betsy Farr (Lay Member to Annual Conference)

**Sandra Hedrick (Substitute for Lay Leader to Annual Conference)

** only attending conference. Not serving in any other capacity.



Standing Work Team Assignments (Chair listed first)

HR:  Nadine Jackson, ,Sandra White, Linda Beach, Pastor Wayne Hedrick

Finance: Sandra White, Ben Jones, Pastor Wayne Hedrick, Bookkeeper(Kathi Matthews)

Lay Leadership:  Pastor Wayne Hedrick ,   Twinkle Tindall, Jeremy Woody

Trustees:  Rick Matthews, Jeremy Woody, Jason Dobos, Wade Rucker  


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s